Starbucks Employee Reviews for Barista

Found 20 reviews matching the search See all 35,089 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
工作夥伴非常友善
Barista (Current Employee) –  Tseung Kwan O, New TerritoriesMay 25, 2019
主任、經理等管理層非常關心下屬,並建立良好的關係,此是由於STATBUCKS工作文化所影響,不論職位大小均一視同仁,營造一個歸屬感。
Pros
兼職有彈性上班時間
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
有團隊精神
Full time barista (Former Employee) –  Admiralty, Hong Kong IslandJanuary 15, 2019
提供有系統完善的員工培訓
明確的價值觀
高度團隊精神
人工過低
Head office不知所謂
給予前線的支援不足 有時甚至達不合理程度
假期少 員工優惠少
Pros
良好工作氣氛
Cons
沒有ot補助,人工低,客人歇斯底里
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Starbucks is fun
Part Time Barista (Current Employee) –  Hong Kong, HKAugust 5, 2018
Overall, the working environment is acceptable however at times work pressure can be very high with less employees.The most enjoyable part is that you can choose the hours you want to work as a part-timer.
Pros
Free food if you work full shift per day
Cons
Pressure
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly co-workers
Part time barista (Former Employee) –  Hong Kong, HKJune 13, 2018
lots of chances to learn, lots of benefits from the company
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good coworker
Barista (Former Employee) –  Admiralty, Hong Kong IslandMay 9, 2018
Inadequent job allowance
Unfair policy
High power distance between the mgt and frontline workers
Pros
Free meal
Cons
Low salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful work
Part time Barista (Former Employee) –  HKOctober 28, 2017
The stress is not from the customer but the staff. The team spirit ks lacking from my shop. They often create a less friendly and warming work environment.
Pros
free meal, discount
Cons
heavy workload, not much time to rest, unfriendly work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
學到很多但工時長經常OT
Barista (Current Employee) –  上環, Hong Kong IslandSeptember 20, 2017
學到很多但工時長經常OT,工作環境清潔因為基本上都是自己和其他Barista(咖啡調配員)清潔,清潔工作很多但工資卻未如理想,但很充實
Pros
學到很多
Cons
工時長
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good working environment
Barista (Former Employee) –  tai po marketSeptember 18, 2017
it nice to communicate with customers, it feels like it is not just making coffee but making friends. Partners were very nice to me too
Pros
go to work happily everyday
Cons
policy
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learn-able workplace
Barista (Former Employee) –  Diamond Hill, KowloonAugust 1, 2017
Working in this company let me learnt how to serve different types of drinks. Also, I have learnt the daily operation of coffee shop. Beside, I made many friends during working in this company as the partners there are very nice and helpful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Starbucks training
Barista (Former Employee) –  Hong KongMay 29, 2017
I have always wanted to learn more about coffee and how a drink place runs. To become a barista at Starbucks, we had to go through a training course before we can really go out and serve our customers. To me, the whole training was amusing and have learnt a lot of useful skills. Temperature and time is very important when heating the milk using steam wand as it can effect not just the taste, but it can ruin the whole drink. For instance, the major difference between a latte and a cappuccino is the timing of the milk steamed. Another important aspect of any barista competition is the artistic presentation of a latte. Seeing customers smile and taking pictures of their drinks makes me feel happy and satisfying. At the end of all the training we must pass a certification exam on what we have learned to ensure that we can provide our very best to out customers. Besides that, something I have learnt is when we get really long orders, we have to stay very calm and patient and do them one-by-one to prevent getting confused with the order. Overall, it was a memorable and enjoyable experience to be able to try new things.
Pros
Wide range of lunch choices
Cons
Team work is very important
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
工作環境好
barista (Former Employee) –  Kwai Fong, New TerritoriesMay 20, 2017
I can learn how to have a good teams work experience in there and some of barista's skill.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
average place had both pros and cons
barista (Former Employee) –  Central and Western, Hong Kong IslandApril 24, 2017
liked the company, Don't like the staff.
the first day i didn't get the training and started working directly, but when i make mistake as i am the new worker, the staff became rude to me. which is totally unacceptable as a new worker who wasn't trained.
Pros
good salary
Cons
no free meals and tiny place for employees rest time
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people and environment to work
Barista (Former Employee) –  Mong Kok, KowloonMarch 12, 2017
Starbucks is one of the biggest company when it comes to coffee. One thing i've noticed about is that Starbucks is not only known as a coffee shop, but when we heard word starbucks, the first the that pops in my mind is SATISFACTION, EXCELLENT CUSTOMER SERVICE, PERFECT ENVIRONMENT For everyone. And they also has a good benefits for partners
Pros
Free 3 beverages a day
Cons
Over time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Barista (Former Employee) –  Hong KongNovember 7, 2016
Starbucks coffee is a fun workplace .
This is my first job in my life
Although was my part time job , I was so happy to work with my colleagues . I have gain so much experiences from this job .
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice atmosphere with each partners
Barista (Former Employee) –  Hong KongNovember 6, 2016
Here can learnt many about coffee knowledge, also can learnt the latte art.
each partners are willing to teach you if you don't know how to do somethings
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Starbucks in Hong Kong
Part-time Barista Trainee (Former Employee) –  Hong KongApril 19, 2016
The overall working environment and culture in Hong Kong is totally different with other places. In particular, there is an inequality in terms of the benefits and working capacity for catering industry.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good enviroment
Barista (Current Employee) –  Hong KongApril 17, 2016
It is a good company, we can learn a lot.
Staff and colleagues are good.
Cons
shitt hours are sometimes hard for staff, for example leave work on 10 pm, but need work on next day 6.45 am.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Part-time Barista (Former Employee) –  Hong KongDecember 2, 2015
Everyday, I needed to make coffee, serve pastry and complete the general cafe duties such as cleaning plates and tables as well.
I learned how to make coffee and smoothies, how to serve in a proper manner and how to cooperate well with colleagues and manager.
My colleagues are very nice and friendly, they are really helpful and willing to teach me anything about Barista.
The hardest thing of the job was making latte art.
However, the most enjoyable part of the job was working in the joyful atmosphere alongside with my colleagues and customers.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Low salaries
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place you will have to learn fast
Part-time Barista (Former Employee) –  Hong Kong, HKIMarch 14, 2015
It's always busy and you have to learn fast, even on the first day of your work. Associates are willing to help.

The best part of the job is tasting. You get a chance to try different food and beverages sold there.
Pros
Stable working hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report

See more Starbucks reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Starbucks. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 35,089 reviews
514K
412.4K
36.1K
21.6K
1954

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
4.0Culture