South China Morning Post Employee Reviews

Found 14 reviews matching the search See all 15 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for part time
Marketing event helper (Former Employee) –  HK, HKMarch 25, 2019
Colleagues are nice and kind. Salary is reasonable.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical day
REMOTE NEWS EDITOR (Former Employee) –  Hong Kong, HKJanuary 4, 2019
The number of stories published by most editors daily ranges from 8 to 10 stories. The days typically run for eight hours. You coordinate with the next shift when they report for work.
Pros
Na
Cons
Na
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good guidance
Sales Executive (Former Employee) –  Causeway Bay, Hong Kong IslandJuly 26, 2018
manager willing to teach, the environment not bad, do not always OT
Pros
no OT
Cons
sales target
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The biggest english news media in Hong Kong
Sales Executive (Former Employee) –  Hong KongJanuary 11, 2018
South China Morning Post has a long and significant history in media in Hong Kong. During working in South China Morning Post, I maintain and trained up how to deal with large corporation and relationship building with the most largest corporation in various industry
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst working environment
Admistrator (Current Employee) –  Tai Po, New TerritoriesNovember 13, 2017
I have been working with SCMP for 20 years. I am responsible for taking care of shuttle service, company car arrangement, office administration work, staff card service, etc.
Pros
I can off duty on time.
Cons
bad working environment, no training, bad ventilation., managment only care about those department that can make profits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employer was nice
Temp Event Helper (Former Employee) –  VariousJuly 6, 2017
I was a helper at several events and I was treated fairly.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
OPERATIONS ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  HONG KONG, HKJune 4, 2017
SCMP is one of the best english publication company in Hong Kong and I am proud to be one of them. Work is fun and productive and I learnt a lot of practical skills that I wont be able to learn at school
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relax
Marketing Executive (Current Employee) –  Tai Po, New TerritoriesFebruary 21, 2017
lack of progression, and seldom recognize the work you've done
Pros
nice colleagues
Cons
no career path
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Daily newspaper about average
Content editor and copy editor (Former Employee) –  Hong Kong and BeijingMay 10, 2016
A typical day at work involves editing of staff-written articles and occasional wire service rewriting. Also writing of headlines and captions.Upper management seems unconcerned with its employees and treats them as if they are interchangeable parts. Cafeteria was provided because there were no restaurants nearby. Work hours were consistent -- 10am to 6pm, Monday to Friday. Co-workers are pleasant. The hardest part of the job is daily deadlines. The job is at its best when people comment on information they've gained through the publications.
Pros
Consistent hours, constantly challenging, reasonably good health insurance
Cons
Raises are few and far between, retirement required at age 60
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
So much potential, but lacking in leadership and strategy
Senior Multimedia Editor (Former Employee) –  Hong KongJanuary 21, 2016
It should be HK's hometown newspaper but is so caught up in commercialization that it neglects it's local constituency. It should also be the NYT of Asia if it worked better to produce original, confident reporting of reporting. Top managers are pro-China and do not balance their stories. Young journalists aren't taught or encouraged to improve leaving over-worked subeditors to improve/re-write stories. There are a few bright, shining examples of professional journalists who are hungry to tell Hong Kong's stories and I hope they are able to grow but sadly I am not encourage by the recent purchase of the SCMP by Alibaba to bring it into China's sphere of influence.
Pros
video production
Cons
management lacking in strategy
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Watch your back
Society Correspondent. Over a one year period (Former Employee) –  Hong KongSeptember 23, 2015
While great for the resume and a good place to better your skill set, I highly advise that you only see the SCMP as a stepping stone to better jobs after 2 years there.
Pros
Good for the resume
Cons
Office politics makes you wish you had 360 degree vision.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and fun
Columnist (Former Employee) –  Hong KongSeptember 23, 2015
I great place to start your career. Supportive colleagues and superiors. Outside the department the company is a less congenial filled with stereotypical office colleagues who would do very well as politicians.
Pros
Good for the resume
Cons
Office politics makes you wish you had 360 degree vision.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best newspaper in Hong Kong
Seoul Correspondent (Former Employee) –  Hong Kong, HKIOctober 30, 2014
The best editors in China work at the South China Morning Post. And the quality never wavers.
Pros
Fantastic Editors
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport

See more South China Morning Post reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at South China Morning Post. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 15 reviews
54
45
32
24
10

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.5Salary/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
3.0Culture

South China Morning Post Reviews by Location