Hong Kong International School Employee Reviews

Found 13 reviews matching the search See all 16 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work, but also changing quickly
Teaching Assistant, Kindergarten (Former Employee) –  Hong KongApril 8, 2019
HKIS is a wonderful school with wonderful teachers. World-class facilities and staff in a world-class location.
However, as the school becomes more of a business, choices are being made that I personally feel affect the quality of life there. I hope the focus remains upon education and not profit.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive
French and Spanish teacher (Former Employee) –  Hong Kong, HKJune 19, 2018
Very competitive and stressful at times. Very demanding parents. Beautiful geographical environment to work at. Fun colleagues. Transportation and housing offered as benefits.
Pros
Housing, transportation
Cons
Housing included in salary: no salary scale based on years of experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience
Staff Writer/Reporter (Former Employee) –  Hong KongNovember 12, 2017
This was for a high school newspaper, so I'm not sure why anyone on Indeed would need a review of this. But I had a lot of great experiences writing for my school newspaper.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot of learning experience gained
Art Director/Graphic Designer (Former Employee) –  Hong KongNovember 12, 2017
This was a great chance to get a sneak peak into the fashion world, you learn a lot about working with brands and training individuals below you. Through this I learned a lot about design programs as well as promoting events.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great student volunteer experience
Early Childhood Classroom Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Hong Kong, HKNovember 12, 2017
Of course, I am a little biased because I did attend this school since I was in kindergarten all the way through 12th grade. This is a great atmosphere to meet knew individuals from different cultural and ethnic backgrounds, I have learned so much from the individuals around me and the working environment was great to learn about working with mentors who are older than you. You learn a lot about patience since you are working with younger students.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Step in-step out job
Substitute/Supply Teacher (Former Employee) –  Hong Kong, HKNovember 3, 2017
I cover for teachers who are sick or on PD. It is great to interact with students of all ages and work in different schools. Hardest part is unpredictability.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part time school nurse while ex pat in Hong Kong
SCHOOL NURSE (Former Employee) –  Hong Kong, HKOctober 29, 2017
School Nurse for Middle school, shared position with another nurse.
Had various experiences with Middle school children who would come to the clinic for evaluation.
Pros
Ever changing needs and skills
Cons
Had to leave after 12 months, due to reassignment back to the USA.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great summer job
Teacher's Assistant (Former Employee) –  Tai Tam, Hong Kong IslandJanuary 2, 2017
Loved working here! The hours weren't too demanding, my co-workers were kind and friendly. It's extremely fulfilling to teach children and there is such a positive environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A big, warm family environment to work in
Chief Financial Officer (Former Employee) –  Hong KongAugust 21, 2016
A typical day was helping teachers and administrators with financial matters.

I learned how to run a not-for-profit organization.

Management worked well together with the Board of Directors.

Co-workers were kind and friendly, no aggressive behavior.

The hardest part of the job was to find appropriate housing for expatriate staff.

The most enjoyable part of the job was to help the organization to raise funds and surpluses through institutional advancement and controlling expenses.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hong Kong International School is one of the top tier international schools in the world.
Literacy Specialist (Former Employee) –  Hong Kong, HKMay 30, 2016
Hong Kong International School has outstanding teachers, an excellent curriculum, and state of the art facilities, including a one to one program from grade 3 through 12. The professional learning community is exceptional, with many of its teachers provided extensive professional development annually. It a school with high demands, but high rewards.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HKIS has great communities.
Mandarin & Culture Teacher (Current Employee) –  Hong KongApril 26, 2014
I am worked HKIS for 16 years. I am leading and establish the Mandarin immersion program for 9 years.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Una de las mejores escuelas del mundo en su tipo
Trabajar en HKIS fue una experiencia única en un ciudad muy moderna y dinámica
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report

See more Hong Kong International School reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Hong Kong International School. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.7
Based on 16 reviews
512
43
31
20
10

Ratings by category

4.4Work/Life Balance
4.2Salary/Benefits
4.4Job Security/Advancement
4.3Management
4.4Culture

Hong Kong International School Reviews by Location