Bank of China Employee Reviews

Found 53 reviews matching the search See all 487 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this is a grate company
Wealth Management Manager (Current Employee) –  Tsim Sha Tsui, KowloonJuly 7, 2019
I learned a lot of financial skills, and financial knowledge and I know how to be a good team player, because we always work as a team,.


our team just like a family, work together, have lunch together, and we always hang out during holiday, work hard and play hard, we are family, not only colleague.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stress place
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Hong Kong, HKJune 1, 2019
Working this places can let you grow faster, you have to selling products successfully otherwise it will be feeling dispirited.You have to join the meeting after working hours.you never knows when the finish time.
Pros
Learn more in your life
Cons
Struggling with selling everyday
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fine
Summer Intern (Former Employee) –  Hong Kong, HKApril 18, 2019
There seemed like there was a lot of arbitrary tasks. Work place was cooperative but the technology needs to be updated. Hours are long and OT is the norm.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fruitful work experience
Customer Services Officer (Former Employee) –  Hong Kong, HKMarch 27, 2019
Handle a full range of counter transactions like remittance
Gained basic bank knowledge and interpersonal skills
Good colleagues
Poor work-life balance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chief Executive’s Office is a great place to work at
Corporate Marketing Manager (Former Employee) –  Hong Kong, HKJanuary 19, 2019
Great to have chance to become the committee member of the Bank’s re-branding project. ALso have the opportunity to develop and design the new marketing materials guideline for the Bank. Prepare competitors’ analysis and present to management is a challenging task
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Monotonous work culture
Equity Sales and Derivatives Summer Intern (Former Employee) –  Hong KongDecember 25, 2018
My experience at BOCI made me realize that working in a Hong Kong Chinese bank had a very distinct culture. Language was also a large barrier because being able to speak Cantonese is a large part of communicating within the workplace. Finally, the internship training program was poorly administered.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strange Culture
Personal Banking Officer (Former Employee) –  HONG KONG, HKJune 22, 2018
They are trying to make business with mainland Chinese all the time by lowering their account opening requirement which ended up in insurance agent overwhelming the front counter with their Chinese customers, handicapping the whole branch.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
管理層變差了
IT Manager (Former Employee) –  Fo Tan, New TerritoriesJune 20, 2018
在這7年間,工作環境變差了,工作變得混亂無理。
放半日假,就沒有午餐時間,不是上午4小時在公司,而要求員工4.5小時出勤。
Pros
平穩
Cons
工作壓力變大了
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is more or less the same with other insurance company
Wealth Management Manager (Former Employee) –  Central, Hong Kong IslandJune 16, 2018
If you want to earn more, you have to find more client, there will be minimal base salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just a insurance company
Wealth Management Manager (Current Employee) –  Tsim Sha Tsui, KowloonMay 31, 2018
No comment needed, just like other insurance companies in HK.

Be sure to fully understanding the employing contract, most of them include a 3-year-contract, which means part of the salary/ subsidy should be returned to the company if the employee leaves the company within 3-year, or if the company fires that employee.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Telecomunications sector is the most challenging department
Teller (Former Employee) –  Hong Kong CentralMay 23, 2018
I love to work at bank because they have a lot of opportunity to tried different department , I think the most challenging sector in the Telecommunications department .
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad
Compliance Officer (Current Employee) –  Hong Kong, HKMay 11, 2018
The post and the job duties are not bad, the working environment is not bad
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not suitable for all people
Teller (Former Employee) –  Tai Po, New TerritoriesMay 4, 2018
not suitable for all people
boring job
you must good at counting
Pros
no
Cons
no
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job summary for the role of graduate trainee
Graduate Trainee (Current Employee) –  Central, Hong Kong IslandApril 9, 2018
Perform daily tasks like generating the daily reports for different financial products and help with the ad-hoc projects. Overall, the culture is good and high job security but the salary is a bit low when compared to other banks.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly Colleagues
Summer Intern (Former Employee) –  Shau Kei Wan, Hong Kong IslandMarch 9, 2018
Although I was a summer intern in company,colleagues are willing to help and teach you when you encounter problems. I learn lots of programming skills there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
同事相處融洽,工作環境佳
行政助理 (Current Employee) –  上環, Hong Kong IslandFebruary 6, 2018
工作上每天繁忙及有壓力,但亦十分嚮往。因本人每當面對工作壓力都以認者多勞的心態去面對。同事方面亦十分融洽令工作事半功倍。
Pros
星期一至五
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review of sales position in Bank of China
Assistant Personal Banking Manager (Former Employee) –  Hong Kong, HKDecember 19, 2017
The position's duty is too achieve sales target. The job required to interact with walk in customers. Working under intense pressure is mainly for what I have learnt from the job.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sharing
Loan Officer (Former Employee) –  Olympic CityOctober 12, 2017
I worked in BOC for 16 years. The bank has tought me many useful skills which I benefit a lot.
Pros
Benefit is good
Cons
Too many OT
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
high security
Graduate Trainee (Current Employee) –  Central, Hong Kong IslandOctober 6, 2017
It is a good place for you if you are looking for a stable and secure job. However, the chance of getting a promotion is relatively low. Colleagues are alright but you have to get used to the Chinese culture.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Branch Operations Assistant- (Former Employee) –  Hong KongSeptember 19, 2017
It has great work culture, I really enjoyed my role at Bank of China. It was only a short term contract but I learned so much during my time working there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Bank of China. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 487 reviews
5225
4166
371
218
17

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.7Salary/Benefits
4.1Job Security/Advancement
4.0Management
3.9Culture