Bank of China Employee Reviews

Found 50 reviews matching the search See all 472 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fine
Summer Intern (Former Employee) –  Hong Kong, HKApril 18, 2019
There seemed like there was a lot of arbitrary tasks. Work place was cooperative but the technology needs to be updated. Hours are long and OT is the norm.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chief Executive’s Office is a great place to work at
Corporate Marketing Manager (Former Employee) –  Hong Kong, HKJanuary 19, 2019
Great to have chance to become the committee member of the Bank’s re-branding project. ALso have the opportunity to develop and design the new marketing materials guideline for the Bank. Prepare competitors’ analysis and present to management is a challenging task
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Monotonous work culture
Equity Sales and Derivatives Summer Intern (Former Employee) –  Hong KongDecember 25, 2018
My experience at BOCI made me realize that working in a Hong Kong Chinese bank had a very distinct culture. Language was also a large barrier because being able to speak Cantonese is a large part of communicating within the workplace. Finally, the internship training program was poorly administered.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strange Culture
Personal Banking Officer (Former Employee) –  HONG KONG, HKJune 22, 2018
They are trying to make business with mainland Chinese all the time by lowering their account opening requirement which ended up in insurance agent overwhelming the front counter with their Chinese customers, handicapping the whole branch.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
管理層變差了
IT Manager (Former Employee) –  Fo Tan, New TerritoriesJune 20, 2018
在這7年間,工作環境變差了,工作變得混亂無理。
放半日假,就沒有午餐時間,不是上午4小時在公司,而要求員工4.5小時出勤。
Pros
平穩
Cons
工作壓力變大了
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is more or less the same with other insurance company
Wealth Management Manager (Former Employee) –  Central, Hong Kong IslandJune 16, 2018
If you want to earn more, you have to find more client, there will be minimal base salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just a insurance company
Wealth Management Manager (Current Employee) –  Tsim Sha Tsui, KowloonMay 31, 2018
No comment needed, just like other insurance companies in HK.

Be sure to fully understanding the employing contract, most of them include a 3-year-contract, which means part of the salary/ subsidy should be returned to the company if the employee leaves the company within 3-year, or if the company fires that employee.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Telecomunications sector is the most challenging department
Teller (Former Employee) –  Hong Kong CentralMay 23, 2018
I love to work at bank because they have a lot of opportunity to tried different department , I think the most challenging sector in the Telecommunications department .
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad
Compliance Officer (Current Employee) –  Hong Kong, HKMay 11, 2018
The post and the job duties are not bad, the working environment is not bad
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not suitable for all people
Teller (Former Employee) –  Tai Po, New TerritoriesMay 4, 2018
not suitable for all people
boring job
you must good at counting
Pros
no
Cons
no
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job summary for the role of graduate trainee
Graduate Trainee (Current Employee) –  Central, Hong Kong IslandApril 9, 2018
Perform daily tasks like generating the daily reports for different financial products and help with the ad-hoc projects. Overall, the culture is good and high job security but the salary is a bit low when compared to other banks.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly Colleagues
Summer Intern (Former Employee) –  Shau Kei Wan, Hong Kong IslandMarch 9, 2018
Although I was a summer intern in company,colleagues are willing to help and teach you when you encounter problems. I learn lots of programming skills there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
同事相處融洽,工作環境佳
行政助理 (Current Employee) –  上環, Hong Kong IslandFebruary 6, 2018
工作上每天繁忙及有壓力,但亦十分嚮往。因本人每當面對工作壓力都以認者多勞的心態去面對。同事方面亦十分融洽令工作事半功倍。
Pros
星期一至五
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review of sales position in Bank of China
Assistant Personal Banking Manager (Former Employee) –  Hong Kong, HKDecember 19, 2017
The position's duty is too achieve sales target. The job required to interact with walk in customers. Working under intense pressure is mainly for what I have learnt from the job.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sharing
Loan Officer (Former Employee) –  Olympic CityOctober 12, 2017
I worked in BOC for 16 years. The bank has tought me many useful skills which I benefit a lot.
Pros
Benefit is good
Cons
Too many OT
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
high security
Graduate Trainee (Current Employee) –  Central, Hong Kong IslandOctober 6, 2017
It is a good place for you if you are looking for a stable and secure job. However, the chance of getting a promotion is relatively low. Colleagues are alright but you have to get used to the Chinese culture.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Branch Operations Assistant- (Former Employee) –  Hong KongSeptember 19, 2017
It has great work culture, I really enjoyed my role at Bank of China. It was only a short term contract but I learned so much during my time working there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
工作環境
Senior Trade Services Officer (Former Employee) –  Olympian citySeptember 7, 2017
需按銀行規則敘做,分工細緻,嚴格控制風險管理
不會有裁員計劃,有不少福利
不時更新內部資訊,管理層亦能按員工能力分配工作
提供全面在職工作培訓
Pros
工作環境良好
Cons
有時候工作量不平均
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
工作環境好
營運經理 (Former Employee) –  奧運September 4, 2017
隨著時代進步,能够參與由舊日的人手陸續移至系統這個過程,當中獲益良多。系統經過一系列的驗收,測試,再推廣到各同事都能懂得用,使我明白要改革,是需要公司裡所有部門的參與,構思,研究,決定,試驗,成功才能推出。
Pros
福利還可以
Cons
壓力太大,分毫都不能差,每天都要OT,
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good working hour
Wealth Management Manager (Former Employee) –  Tsim Sha Tsui, KowloonAugust 23, 2017
i can know more about the different product in the bank.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Bank of China. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 472 reviews
5219
4162
368
216
17

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
3.7Salary/Benefits
4.1Job Security/Advancement
4.0Management
4.0Culture